Last week

Well I have been rather quiet on the blog front for the last week or so. This has not been because I have not been busy, quite the opposite really. Last week we (the B(est) team) spent the week in Dunedin for our leadership course. This was a really fabulous time, and very thought-provoking. Or brain-hurty as we regularly described it. I have returned full of new enthusiasm for leadership positions and for some reason can’t wait to get started on my first leadership assignment. Im sure the feeling will pass when I start having to actually write an essay.

One of the really important parts of the course was having to work out what our values are. I realised that I have spent far too long in cadets because it is hard to go past Discipline, Respect, Integrity, and Loyalty. But then I thought more about it, and realised that the reason I am struggling to get past these is because they are essentially what I think I was taught from a young age (if not, sorry Mum and Dad but that is what I got out of all those times I was told to “mind your manners” 🙂 ).

I found it quite difficult when we had to stand up in front of every one and speak about a leader we admired. It turned out that none of us liked public speaking. But I did it and will hopefully be more confident next time I have to do it.

The leader I chose to speak about was Admiral William McRaven, not because I know anything about his leadership (although I can assume he must have leader someone well to be an Admiral), but because I was recently shown a video of him speaking and found it inspirational. It is a reminded that anyone can do anything if they want to. We have to start, take small steps, not be afraid, and not ever give up.

I think this is good advice for all of us, and sometimes you just need a little inspiration and the self belief that comes with it.

As part of the course we were also taken on a lovely tour of Dunedin. In classic Jags. 🙂

IMG_2534This was them parked outside the railway station.

IMG_2520

We went to a lookout.

IMG_2528

And attempted Baldwin St.

IMG_2549

And saw the first church. Looking lovely and gothic as it got dimmer.

IMG_2552

And had an amazing dinner in St Clair, at Starfish. In fact the food the whole time was amazing.

IMG_2541

Andrea and I posing with the car… I sat in the seat that the Queen had sat in. I practiced my wave the whole way through Dunedin.

IMG_2539

One lunch time I went for a quick walk and had a look at the geology museum at Otago and found these:

IMG_2515I’m quite familiar with forams now!

Leave a Reply

